Hospital Leadership

Glenn D. Focht, MD


Dr. Focht joined the team in 2021 as Chief Medical Officer (CMO) of Anna Jaques Hospital and Chief Operations Officer (COO) of Seacoast Affiliated Group Practice (SAGP). He was named president of Anna Jaques Hospital in August, 2023.

Dr. Focht is an accomplished, thoughtful, and mission-driven physician leader with more than 25 years of experience leading high-performance teams. He has provided administrative oversight of the medical staff at multiple hospitals throughout his career, as well as the operations and leadership of large physician organizations.  

Prior to joining Anna Jaques Hospital, Dr. Focht had served as President of Connecticut Children’s Specialty Group at Connecticut Children’s Hospital since 2017. This multi-specialty group includes 200 physicians and more than 100 advanced practice clinicians. Prior to that, he was with Boston Children’s Hospital as the Chief Medical Officer for the Pediatric Physician Organization at Children’s (PPOC) for five years. He also held the CMO and Vice President of Medical Affairs roles at Milford Regional Hospital and Cooley Dickenson for many years.

Dr. Focht is board certified in internal medicine. He received his medical degree from University of Pennsylvania and completed his internship and residency at University of Massachusetts Medical School. 

Christine Kipp, RN, BSN, MBA, CENP

Interim Chief Nursing Officer

Christine Kipp, RN, BSN, MBA, CENP, has more than 20 years of experience in leadership roles, including as a chief nursing officer, nursing director, critical care nurse and leadership roles in patient care quality improvements.

Most recently, she was the interim senior director for emergency services at WellSpan Health System in York, PA, where she had administrative oversight of a Level-1 Trauma Center with nearly 90,000 visits annually. Previously, she was the interim chief nursing officer, vice president of patient care at Southeast Georgia Health System, where she led a 300-plus bed facility, a 40-bed remote campus, and two senior care centers, with responsibility for all nursing departments and pharmacy. 

While at Southeast Georgia Health System, she provided leadership support during the transition of the CEO’s retirement to a permanent replacement. Christine also has experience in developing programs designed to promote recruitment, retention, professional development and continuing education of clinical staff in service areas.

John J. Matlock

Chief Financial Officer

John J. Matlock is the hospital’s Chief Financial Officer and oversees all aspects of finance and revenue cycle. John brings more than 20 years of health care finance experience to Anna Jaques, having worked exclusively for hospitals and health systems his entire career. Most recently, he was the Market Director for Finance for the Commonwealth Health System in Scranton, PA, where he oversaw the financial operations of two 200-bed acute care community hospitals (Regional Hospital of Scranton and Moses Taylor Hospital) and the system’s EMS company. 

Prior to that, he served as Chief Financial Officer (CFO) for Moses Taylor Hospital, Physician Health Alliance & Commonwealth Health EMS. As CFO, he was responsible for financial leadership and oversight of the accounting, budgetary, audits, tax and other financial planning activities. John received his bachelor’s degree in accounting from Misericordia University in Pennsylvania.

Sean Ahern

Chief Operating Officer

As Chief Operating Officer, Sean Ahern oversees clinical services and hospital operations, including security and safety, construction, facilities and maintenance, and food service.

A seasoned health leader, Ahern joined Anna Jaques in January 2023 from Winchester Hospital, where he oversaw clinical operations for over 28 years. Ahern also served as the Director of Cardiopulmonary, Sleep, Neurology, and Rehabilitation Services at Winchester, where he led a number of strategic and operational projects.

Sean holds a Master of Healthcare Administration from Independence University, a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Eastern Nazarene College, and an Associate Degree in Respiratory Therapy from North Shore Community College. He Maintains a Respiratory Therapy license and is a credentialed Neonatal Pediatric Specialist.

Michael McCarthy

Vice President, Philanthropy

Michael McCarthy leads Anna Jaques’ philanthropic efforts to support the hospital’s mission to deliver high-quality care to patients and the community. Michael brings more than 17 years of experience in philanthropy and most recently was Assistant Vice President, Philanthropy, at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. 

Michael earned his Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, from Colby Sawyer College and a Master of Business Administration from the University of New Hampshire.

Sandra Levin

Vice President, Chief Quality Officer

Sandra Levin, Chief Quality Officer, joined the Senior Management Team in May 2021. Sandra has an unwavering commitment to quality and safety, and a commitment to helping Anna Jaques become a High Reliability Organization.

As Chief Quality Officer, Sandra works closely with the Board Quality Committee, which oversees organizational processes, policies, outcomes, and external reporting. She leads a team dedicated to keeping the hospital safe through compliance with infection control and public health measures. Notably, Sandra’s vital role on Incident Command throughout the pandemic led to the hospital’s successful development and implementation of COVID-19 policies.

Sandra’s proven leadership, expertise, and unique perspective will bring tremendous value to SMT as we implement key initiatives to further enhance the quality and safety of the care we provide to our community.

Physician Leadership

Medical Staff

Joshua Tarkan, MD

President of the Medical Staff

Department Chiefs

Mary Baker-Berzansky, MD

Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Owen Beams, MD

Department of Emergency Medicine

Paul Chang, DO

Department of Surgery

Celeste Dunn, MD

Department of Pediatrics

Matthew Hall, MD

Department of Radiology

Alexander Lipin, MD

Department of Psychiatry

Carolyn Thumser, MD, FAAP

Department of Pediatrics

Alla Tibbetts, MD

Department of Medicine